Sovereign Balance Sheet · Active
$4.5BDebt-service relief delivered at completion point, 13 December 2023
HIPC Completion and the Extended Credit Facility
Decision point 25 March 2020 · Completion point 13 December 2023 · ECF runs to 2027
Somalia reached the Heavily Indebted Poor Countries decision point on 25 March 2020 and the completion point on 13 December 2023, after clearing arrears to the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank and the African Development Bank. External public debt fell from $5.3 billion at end-2018 to $0.6 billion at end-2023, or from 64 percent of GDP to under 6 percent. The African Development Bank cleared $122.6 million of arrears in March 2020 and cancelled $17.68 million of African Development Fund loans covering 2024 to 2039. In April 2025 the Arab Monetary Fund signed a further $306.5 million restructuring. Holding the gain is now the work of a four-year Extended Credit Facility approved on 19 December 2023 at SDR 75 million, augmented by SDR 30 million on 8 December 2025 to SDR 105 million. The programme’s centre of gravity is domestic revenue mobilisation, customs modernisation, a new income tax law, and preparation for reintroducing the Somali shilling under a currency board framework.
$5.3bn → $0.6bnExternal public debt, end-2018 to end-2023
64% → under 6%External debt as a share of GDP
SDR 105mECF access after the December 2025 augmentation
$306.5mArab Monetary Fund restructuring, April 2025
Fiscal Capability Architecture
Read About HIPC Completion
Active
SDR 30MAugmentation taking total access to SDR 105m (about $140m)
IMF Extended Credit Facility — Fourth Review and Augmentation
Fourth review completed 8 December 2025 · SDR 22.5m released
The augmentation is to be drawn equally at the fourth and fifth reviews. Fund staff project growth of 3.0 percent in 2025 and 3.3 percent in 2026, with a 2025 deficit of 0.3 percent of GDP, and note that Somalia plans to expand social spending from domestic resources.
International Monetary FundFederal Government of SomaliaCentral Bank of Somalia
Read more →
Active
$150MIDA grant, revised to $144.45m · $28.09m disbursed by November 2025
Somali Electricity Sector Recovery Project
Approved 8 December 2021 · Closing 31 December 2026
The anchor operation for Somalia’s diesel-dominated, privately owned grid. Four contracts totalling 23.02 megawatts-peak of solar with 42.3 megawatt-hours of battery storage are awarded for Baidoa, Galkayo and Garowe, and 365 health and education facilities have been commissioned on solar. The 30 percent tariff reduction target remains unmet.
World Bank IDAMinistry of Energy and Water ResourcesPrivate electricity providers
Read more →
Active
$125MIDA grant — unearmarked budget support
Second Economic Resilience Development Policy Financing
Approved 7 August 2025 · Follows a first operation of the same size in 2024
Budget support tied to prior actions rather than projects. The reform matrix covers tax revenue and fiscal accountability, a 50 megawatt renewable generation target by December 2026, microfinance and drought insurance, cold storage and processing for fisheries exports, and broadband expansion. It is one of the few instruments that puts money through the treasury and tests whether the treasury can carry it.
World Bank IDAMinistry of Finance
Read more →
Active
Not disclosedJoint venture between the Central Bank and 13 commercial banks
Somali Instant Payment System and Payment Switch
Launched January 2025 on ISO 20022 messaging
Being extended to 14 commercial banks and eight mobile money and electronic wallet providers, with interoperable person-to-person, merchant and government payments and the SOMQR national QR standard. The Central Bank intends to connect it to the Pan-African Payment and Settlement System before the end of 2026.
Central Bank of SomaliaSomalia Payment SwitchCommercial banks and mobile money operators
Read more →
Pipeline
$70M$30m secured as of September 2025 — a $40m gap remains
Somali Shilling Reintroduction and Currency Board Preparation
Phase one covers 1,000 / 2,000 / 5,000 / 10,000 shilling notes
Somalia has not issued legal-tender banknotes for decades, leaving the economy dollarised and dependent on private mobile wallets. The IMF’s fourth review names preparation for reintroduction under a currency board framework as a programme priority. The government is seeking grant rather than loan financing to close the shortfall.
Central Bank of SomaliaMinistry of FinanceInternational Monetary Fund
Read more →
Active
$50MIDA financing
Badmaal — Sustainable Fisheries Development Project
Approved 12 June 2024 · Closing 30 June 2030
The first serious attempt to monetise a maritime zone of roughly one million square kilometres. The project funds jetties, landing sites, cold chain and processing for small-scale operators. Somalia has moved from season-long vessel permits toward catch-based licensing; deep-sea permits previously priced at $50,000 a year captured a fraction of one percent of landed value.
World Bank IDAMinistry of Fisheries and Blue EconomyFederal member states
Read more →
Active
$100MOn top of earlier tranches of $65m, $110m and $143m
Shock Responsive Safety Net for Human Capital
Third additional financing approved 15 December 2023
Somalia’s national cash transfer programme, delivered largely through mobile money rails that already reach most households. It is the clearest example of the country’s inversion: a state that cannot yet collect broad-based tax can nonetheless make targeted payments at national scale because private payment infrastructure arrived first.
World Bank IDAMinistry of Labour and Social AffairsMobile money operators
Read more →
Active
$70MIDA financing
Barwaaqo — Water for Rural Resilience Project
Approved 9 December 2022 · Closing 29 February 2028
Rural water supply and groundwater development in the pastoral zones where drought translates most directly into displacement. The World Bank’s January 2026 Country Climate and Development Report puts 3.5 million Somalis in displacement, three quarters of them in urban areas, and models roughly $5.3 billion of adaptation investment over 35 years.
World Bank IDAMinistry of Energy and Water ResourcesFederal member states
Read more →
Active
$100MIDA financing
Accelerating Sustainable and Clean Energy Access
Approved 28 November 2023 · Closing 30 November 2028
Somalia’s window into the World Bank’s regional energy access platform, aimed at off-grid solar, mini-grids and distribution for households and public institutions outside the reach of the main urban networks. It runs alongside the Electricity Sector Recovery Project rather than duplicating it, targeting access rather than generation cost.
World Bank IDAMinistry of Energy and Water ResourcesPrivate distributors
Read more →
Active
$23.36M$9.62m African Development Fund grant plus $13.74m Transition Support Facility
Bosaso Power Grid Rehabilitation and Expansion
Approved 16 December 2025
New solar generation, distribution network expansion, modern metering and solar home systems for unelectrified households in Puntland’s main port city, alongside institutional strengthening for the energy sector. It is the African Development Bank’s principal post-HIPC energy commitment in Somalia and targets displacement-affected populations directly.
African Development FundTransition Support FacilityPuntland State authorities
Read more →
Active
Up to $500MTurkish estimate for exploration and initial drilling
Türkiye–Somalia Hydrocarbon Exploration Agreements
Offshore PSA signed 2024 · Onshore agreement added 10 April 2025
An offshore production sharing agreement gave Turkish Petroleum three blocks of 5,000 square kilometres each, surveyed by the seismic vessel Oruç Reis across roughly 15,000 square kilometres. The 2025 onshore agreement covers three further blocks and 16,000 square kilometres. Turkey’s energy minister has indicated 2026 as a drilling year. Development would require several billion more.
Turkish Petroleum CorporationSomali Petroleum AuthorityMinistry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources
Read more →
Completed
$306.5MTerms not disclosed
Arab Monetary Fund Debt Restructuring
Signed in Kuwait · Announced 10 April 2025
A post-HIPC settlement with a creditor outside the Paris Club and outside the HIPC multilateral framework. It matters because Somalia’s remaining external obligations sit disproportionately with regional and bilateral creditors rather than with the institutions that delivered HIPC relief.
Arab Monetary FundMinistry of Finance
Read more →
Active
$75MIDA financing
Enhancing Public Resource Management Project
Approved 14 December 2022 · Closing 31 December 2027
The institutional counterpart to the revenue targets in the IMF programme. Somalia’s 2026 budget strategy raises domestic revenue to $513.7 million, or 3.6 percent of GDP at federal level, while donor grants fall to $676.2 million from $901.6 million. Program-based budgeting is being piloted across 41 ministries with full rollout intended by 2027.
World Bank IDAMinistry of FinanceOffice of the Auditor General
Read more →
Advocacy
$196MPlus $93.9m in inherited arrears
AUSSOM Financing Gap
2025 requirement against $48.6m pledged · US support ends 31 December 2026
The African Union Support and Stabilization Mission in Somalia, authorised by Security Council Resolution 2767 in January 2025, fields roughly 12,000 personnel and has never been funded to its budget. Resolution 2719’s mechanism for up to 75 percent UN assessed contributions has not been applied. This is the financing gap sitting underneath every other instrument on this page.
African UnionUnited NationsEuropean UnionUnited KingdomTroop-contributing states
Read more →
Advocacy
$852MTo reach 2.4 million of 4.8 million assessed as in need
Humanitarian Needs and Response Plan 2026
Launched 26 January 2026 · 2025 appeal closed at roughly $396m of $1.43bn
The 2026 appeal narrows to 1.6 million people in the most severe conditions across 21 high-risk districts. OCHA is explicit that the 20 percent fall in assessed need since 2025 reflects a stricter definition rather than improved conditions.
UN OCHAHumanitarian country teamFederal Government of Somalia
Read more →